About the Wasilla Historic Train Depot

Copyright (C) 2006 Stanfill

Constructed by November 1917 by the Alaska Engineering Commission, the Wasilla Train Depot at Mile 159.8 of the Alaska Railroad track system (AHRS site ANC-088) is a pivotal symbol of the Alaska Railroad and a cornerstone of the region’s history. Today, it stands as one of the only remaining original depots on the Alaska Railroad mainline, performing its historic functions for over a century.

Architectural Design and Layout

Remarkably well-preserved from its original design, the depot was built as a classic, one-story rectangular wood-frame building measuring 33 by 52 feet. It features a low, hipped roof with wide overhanging eaves on all sides, surmounted by a distinctive central cupola.

The building’s original layout was highly functional, featuring two protruding bays:

  • The Trackside (North) Bay: Measuring 11 feet, 8 inches wide, this section faced the tracks and housed the depot office and ticket counter. It was flanked by a passenger waiting room on the left and a storage room on the right.
  • The Residential (South) Bay: Facing away from the tracks, this 12-foot-wide bay accommodated a residence for railroad personnel. This includes 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen, pantry, and another storage room.

Historical Impact

Gold was being discovered throughout Alaska as early as 1897. Transportation to these remote areas was extremely challenging. By 1910 the Willow Creek Mining District had been in operation for nearly two decades. Despite finding several gold rich deposits, there was only one operational quartz mine and a few farms due to the severe transportation difficulties. People needed a way to viably bring in supplies from the southern ports to the interior. Private companies made several attempts but, in 1914 President Woodrow Wilson was convinced to establish a route from Seward to Fairbanks and construction began in 1915.

A government land auction where the Alaska Railroad met the Carle Wagon Trail paved the way for the new Wasilla Depot. Constructed by 1917 at what is now the intersection of the George Parks Highway and Main Street, the depot earned the title “Gateway to the Willow Creek Mining District.” It served as the primary catalyst for Wasilla’s development, transforming the townsite into a vital supply center. The completion of the depot effectively opened the area to human economic activity by providing reliable, year-round transportation for both freight and passengers. The resulting economic boom drove continuous community growth, pulling businesses and homesteaders away from the former regional hub of Knik.

It was not until 1942 that homes in Wasilla would regionally receive electricity. Telephones were not available until the late 50s. The Wasilla Depot served as a major communication point through trains, telegraph, and later a singular railroad phone line.

Preservation and Modern Use

In 2020 the depot was moved 3/4 of a mile from its original location to alleviate traffic at the intersection of the Parks Highway and Knik Goose Bay Rd. Although the depot’s original cupola disappeared sometime in the mid-1900s, it was faithfully rebuilt when the Wasilla Chamber of Commerce and Lions Club later restored the building to its original condition. In January 2024 it reopened to house the Greater Wasilla Chamber of Commerce offices and the local Visitor Center.

While Alaska Railroad trains still actively use the location to pick up and drop off passengers, the depot itself is no longer staffed by railroad personnel and is only open during the Wasilla Chamber of Commerce’s business hours.

Sources: